A Friend’s Rant

A facebook friend posted the following political statement that I found interesting. I have modified slightly (my changes in square brackets) I’m curious; post back what party you think this person supports. I really don’t care either way, but I am curious.

I have always been an open minded person who enjoyed debating politics and religion with people. I loved to hear different points of view. that has all recently changed. there has been a shift in politics that is scary to me. [My husband] and I go back and forth, he feels that good people can vote [hated political party] and I don’t think that is the case. you may on the surface seem good, go to church, give to charity but if you subscribe to the [hated political party] values you are not the kind of person I want to know. [My husband] says that people don’t have to believe in all the [hated political party] values but I feel that if you are voting that way you are voting for those values, all if them. as we look back in history do we not hold all who stood by and watched the Nazi party butcher millions of people with disdain? it’s not enough to say, I knew they were killing people but I didn’t believe in that, I just liked their [modern value being sneered at compared to the evils of Nazi Germany]. is this an extreme view of the situation? [My husband] feels it is but to me it is not. the [hated political party] leadership [does not agree with my views on marriage], they [don’t share my views on abortion] and worst of all they [don’t share other of my views on abortion]. they do not [agree with me about health care] and they are more concerned with keeping [hated party’s candidate] out of office than [some other thing I think would distract from this candidate’s failings]. I have officially drawn a line in the sand, if those are your values I really don’t need to know you.

Yes, my friend just compared supporters of [the hated political party’s candidate] to those who allowed Hitler to do his thing. Well, sort of. Hard not to read it that way, to me. In any case, I’m not sure whether to sigh in disbelief or cry in sadness over the self-congratulation that sees no issue in writing off all those who disagree to the point of making a different choice.

I hope I don’t get de-friended.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Religion and Government. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Friend’s Rant

  1. Dredknott says:

    That could really go both ways.
    Nazi comparisons are prevalent on the internet from both sides.
    Maybe partially because of your editing, but it is fairly ambiguous.
    Most Christians fall on the socialy conservative side of the spectrum, but some do see the progressive side as the best way to show love to the world. Financially, christians can be on either side.
    I’m going to go with the writer being conservative. However, something in the way you ask it makes me think I’m wrong.

    Personally, I feel that Christians should be loving but unyielding in matters of morality. On issues of abortion where lives are literally in the balance, we should stand firm. On issues of homosexual marriage, we can allow to be more giving in that area. From the political perspective, we have no right to legislate them away. Politically on the issue of abortion, the moment you have replicating cellular function indicative of life and having DNA separate from that of the mother, you have individual life. An individual that has the same right to life, liberty, and a pursuit of happiness that we are all entitled to, and that no other individual can make claims against.

  2. Dredknott says:

    Guess my political affiliation?

    • George says:

      Oh, I wouldn’t even attempt. I myself don’t fit neatly in either “major” political party. I more made the post not to side either way, rather to point out how unhelpful the rhetoric was coming from either side; and how typical of both. I am theologically more conservative, for sure. But that says little about politics, from my vantage-point. I agree – unyielding in morality and the value of life (and I would add people’s need for the gospel, but from our lips, not the writ of law). On questions of others’ daily lives, and much of public policy, I’m rather laissez-faire.

      Thanks for stopping by, and hope to hear from you again!

Leave a Reply

