Old Friends

I had a friend when I was a sophomore in high school. He was my first example of a real follower of Christ. Someone who’s actions, though not perfect, matched up with his words. He was likely 8 or 10 years older than me, but was willing to really take me on and befriend me. He shared Christian rock with me, hoping to establish a connection that would lead to something bigger.

It did. About a year later. But he never knew it. I had moved to the other side of the country by then. I’ve looked for him so many times, but haven’t been able to find him. He was a young guy in the Air Force. Military moves around so much that I don’t even know where to start now.

This came back to mind once again because an old friend, who I hadn’t heard from in over 13 years, told me that I had played a part in her being saved. I had no idea. No one has ever told me something like that before. How utterly incomprehensible. What an encouragement! So to her, thanks for the kind words. To God, thank you for the opportunity.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Life In General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

