First time for everything

Until today, I had never preached before. To be honest, I had avoided it out of fear of the responsibility it entailed, afraid of what people might assume were my motives. All mostly nonsense, of course. But I finally took the plunge and talked to Pastor Bob about the possibility. He seemed thrilled, and we planned on me co-teaching with him.

So I did the second point of the message today. The main sermon used Mark 12:28-34, in which Jesus quotes Deuteronomy 6:4-5. We covered ways that we can love God. I covered loving God with our minds.

I broke up loving God with our minds into 4 points, focusing our attention, seeking nourishment, seeking direction, and determined readiness. Each was associated with a particular verse, Philippians 4:8-9, 2 Timothy 3:16-17, James 1:5 and Ephesians 6:13-18, respectively.

I planned about 8-9 minutes. Not really sure how long I took. I was quite nervous up to the moment of preaching, but once I began, I became relaxed. All I can say is that the Spirit helped me through that. Usually, doing just a short 60 second verbal is enough to make my hands tremble. Thank you Bob, for praying with me prior, and allowing me this opportunity.

To be honest, I reached the last point and thought, “Am I here already?” It seemed to just blow by quickly. But it was filled with joy. I can’t imagine doing something much more fulfilling than this. It’s loaded with responsibility, but definitely worth it. Thank You, God, for using me to share your word. I know I missed one key thing (skipped it accidentally) that I wanted to encourage the body to do: If you’re not currently making God’s word a daily priority, begin to do so soon!

Hopefully I’ll have the opportunity to share God’s word at The Mount again…

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Life In General, Ministry Prework and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

