Your Input Requested…

So I’ve been writing in Matthew for a while now. Of late, I’ve provided an English transliteration before my own translation (with Nestle’s help, of course). You can see what I mean here, here and here

What do you think? If you’re reading along with me, would you rather see the actual Greek, or is the transliteration working for you? Either works for me, though with my keyboard and OS setup the way they are, it is actually easier for me to type the Greek diacritics, etc., than it is to write in transliteration with all the macrons. Then again, I don’t want to scare off readers with a long section of unreadable (and maybe even undecipherable) text. There’s a lot to be offered and explained after the actual text is entered. Are there any other considerations that I am missing?

Of course, I have been re-typing the Greek (whether in transliteration or raw) to reinforce the grammar and vocabulary for myself, after hand-writing the Greek.

So, um, what do you think? I’d love to know your thoughts on the matter.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Doctrinal Topics, Greek, Matthew and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Your Input Requested…

  1. Mike says:

    give me greek or give me death. as long as they see the translation below, I think readers will be okay.

  2. Nick Norelli says:

    I’m fine with either, but if I had to choose, I’d say use Greek characters. It’s easier for me to get the proper pronunciation (or at least what I believe to be proper) with the actual Greek.

  3. Nathan Stitt says:

    I skip over the transliteration. I’ll read the Greek or English but I pass on the current format, as it is harder to read than plain ol’ Greek. I agree with Mike and Nick.

  4. George says:

    (sigh of relief goes here)

    That was all I needed to hear.

  5. Ben says:

    Add one more vote for the Greek. The alphabet itself isn’t that hard to learn.

Leave a Reply

