Hackers Make Me Ill

A hacker got into my church’s website (which I adminsiter for the time being) – exploiting, I believe, a recently found bug in Joomla 1.5.  I have corrected that issue – but my backups may not be very helpful to me due to the date – and the hacker went and deleted each article on the site, then each section and category, before finally deleting all the user accounts (including mine).We’ll see this evening what I can do to recover or get back to a semblance of sanity.

The hacker did not feel that that was enough – they retitled the site so that users browsing our church would see an expletive, rather than helpful or encouraging content. Ah, well. I suppose I will have to pay closer attention to security updates and the like – be a little more proactive.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Life In General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hackers Make Me Ill

  1. Nathan Stitt says:

    Wow that stinks. Hopefully you can get the backups on there temporarily until you can get something new added.

  2. George says:

    We got just about everything backup. Only thing lost really was some old announcements and the “ministry” section, where we explain our ministries and give info on needs and the like. An important section, which we can hopefully get back up this week…

Leave a Reply

