Hindi Greetings, etc.

Ah, so I haven’t posted anything in regards to my Hindi study in a while. So I thought I would come back and post some of standard phrases:

Excuse me. माफ़ कीजिय ।
māf kījiye.
Hello. / Goodbye. नमस्ते ; नमस्कार
namaste; namaskār
How are you? आप कैसे हैं?
āp kaise hai?
How are you (informal)? क्या हाल है?
kyā hāl hai?
Good. जी, अच्छा ।
jī, acchā.
Thanks. धन्यवाद ।
dhanyavād.
Thank you. शुक्रिया ।
śukriyā.

Honestly, I’m not sure about the difference between धन्यवाद dhanyavād and शुक्रिया śukriyā. Not sure if they are used under different circumstances.  I consistently use and hear the latter, though.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Hindi and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Hindi Greetings, etc.

  1. Pingback: Thank You « σφόδρα – exceedingly

Leave a comment