Review of Peter and the Starcatchers

Peter and the Starcatchers Peter and the Starcatchers
Author: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson
Soft Cover, 480 pages
Publisher: Disney Press
Language: English
ISBN-13: 9780786849079

My wife and I picked this one up at the bookstore to read together. So technically, I did not read all of it, but rather, we read aloud to each other on a road trip. It only took three days of off and on reading to finish, as it is long but the text is easy to read.

As I listened, I had a hard time imagining how this was a prequel to the original Peter Pan stories. I was constantly imagining how every event could lead to the characters and situation I was familiar with. But it was a fun read in its own right.

There are some funny moments, and there is quite a bit of violence. Everything has a sense of exaggerated nastiness. I think the way the authors tied up lose endings at the end was somewhat unbelievable and abrupt. But it was good enough that my wife and I are considering reading the rest of the series.

I would give this book ★★★☆☆. It’s not deep by any stretch of the imagination. But it is a fun read for anyone over about 12, I think.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

