Recipe Meme: Cheeseburger Chowder

Nick Norelli tagged me with a recipe meme.  Here are the rules:

  1. Choose one ingredient from the previous recipe and post a recipe using this ingredient on your blog, linking back to the previous blogs that have posted a recipe.
  2. Then tag four new people, and we will see how it grows.
  3. To keep it exciting please post within a week of receiving the tag.

Nick’s recipe was for Estofado de Pollo, and I am going to take his potatoes as my bridge ingredient. Cheeseburger Chowder has always been a family favorite, but many of my church family are now hooked as well! It can be modified to suit, and works well with toppings at the table. Here goes:

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 2 medium potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 2 tbsp. green pepper, chopped
  • 1 tbsp instant beef bouillon granules
  • light garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 2 1/2 cups milk
  • 3 tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar (plus extra for the table, of course)

Directions

  • Brown beef, draining off the fat.
  • Add meat, potatoes, celery, onion, green pepper, bouillon, garlic powder, salt and water to stew pot.
  • Cover and cook over medium heat until vegetables are tender; should take 15-20 minutes.
  • Blend a 1/2 cup of the milk with the flour.
  • Add flour/milk mixture to the pan with the rest of the milk.
  • Cook, stirring, until thickened and bubbly.
  • Add cheese and continue heating until it melts.
  • Serve!

Now, this is the recipe as handed down from my mother. I always double the recipe when I make it. And I always use more cheese than the recipe says (but no guarantee how much – and it matters little since we always put more on at the table. I suggest serving with sweet tea (still hot with ice, if possible) and crusty bread, like white mountain bread or something similar.

And I tag Lee, Jeremy, Nathan and TC.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Food, Meme. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recipe Meme: Cheeseburger Chowder

  1. Matthew says:

    I’m intrigued… I think I’m gonna have to try this!

Leave a Reply

