what to do when you are on a plane and your batteries are dead and you have a Greek New Testament on hand

For work, I had to fly out to Spokane, WA for the week. So, I had a lengthy flight to fill with activities. I watched that new movie with Jennifer Garner that is supposed to be like A Christmas Carol, but focused on a philandering man instead of a stingy one. Can’t remember the title. But it was a decent movie, and was free. Would have been a good one to watch with my wife, though.

I spent some limited time listening to Andrew Peterson on CD, and then studied some Hindi. Turned on my laptop, but it blue-screened so I decided to turn it off.

Other than that, I pretty much worked on Greek, which I have been behind in. I transcribed more of Matthew (hopefully later this week I can get the next installment of my Matthew translation posted). And then, I worked on memorizing Hebrews.

Right, not the whole thing. That’d be more than my puny memory could handle at the moment. But I have managed to memorize the first 6 verses. (Yes, 6 plane hours and I memorized 6 verses – how pathetic, right?) In my defense, I have a terrible memory. And I’m trying to memorize in Greek, not English. So cut me some slack.

Maybe I’ll post some of my thoughts related to these verses – the flow and cadence, the angle and trajectory of the thought (the first five verses are one sentence!) later. I have been reviewing one of Tyndale’s Bible studies on Hebrews and it, combined with the parables of Jesus that we have been discussing at church recently, has allowed God to bring a whole bunch of truth together in my mind: lot’s of varied thoughts that are all interrelated, building on each other, emphasizing one another in an amazing way.

Hope everyone has a great week.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Books, Greek, Life In General, Matthew. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to what to do when you are on a plane and your batteries are dead and you have a Greek New Testament on hand

  1. Ben says:

    Don’t you hate it when you get no points for watching a chick flick?

  2. Mike Aubrey says:

    I’ll not only cut you some slack, but I’ll also commend you!

  3. George says:

    Ben: Absolutely!

    Mike: Thanks.

  4. Jeremy says:

    Slack is duly cut. I have no idea why one would pursue memorizing the Bible in English, much less Greek, but your efforts are not without notice. 🙂 Your love of the revered text shines through loud and clear, and I also revere your love of knowledge, though we part ways on the kind of texts that should be revered … but we once didn’t. I do, however, wish I had your passion for languages, though. I do have my own passions for music, songwriting, literature, history and philosophy. Take care.
    J.

Leave a Reply

