Not a Happy Customer

So I tried to pull a disc (#2 of 2 discs) out of my Teach Yourself Ukrainian Complete Course, and it wouldn’t come out. The post that held it in was so tight that it would not release the disc. So I wiggled and worked with it and thought it was about to come out when, “Ouch!” The disc broke, and sliced my thumb open.

So I called the manufacturer, McGraw-Hill. I told them that I broke the disc trying to remove it from the packaging, and they gave me the ISBN and told me that it would be about $6.00 to order just the one disc (and also that the item was out of stock, but should be available by May 18th). I explained politely that I considered this a manufacturing defect – and wasn’t looking to buy another disc. The manufacturer of the faulty product should take care of it! Well, I was told that I would have to contact the business that I purchased the package from. McGraw-Hill wasn’t going to help out.

So I called Amazon, the business from which I purchased the package. They don’t sell the CD itself. Since I ordered the package, they demanded that I send the whole package back for refund. But once they saw that I had purchased in January, they balked even at that. Finally, they agreed to a partial refund of $4.00. Not even enough to cover the cost of the disk (especially with likely S&H). They did say they would discuss the defective packaging with McGraw-Hill so that other customers would not have this same problem…

Well, I still want the disk, so I call McGraw-Hill back. Realizing that they weren’t going to replace the disk, I tell the salesman that I want to order it, giving him the ISBN. He reminds me that it is momentarily out of stock. I asked to go ahead and place the order anyway – and the salesman argues with me, saying that it may not be available till June. In the end, he refused to take my order! So now I have to call back later to try to order something that I shouldn’t have to purchase in the first place (my opinion, of course).

Not happy. When I review, I’ll try to keep my run-ins with Amazon and McGraw-Hill out of it. But the shoddy packaging that led to this issue will definitely come up. Unfortunately, this is not the only defect in materials!

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not a Happy Customer

  1. *sigh* I had a similar problem with a Spanish disc manufacturer. The disc would load but not play on my computer. I never got to speak with a real person, but after multiple emails, I finally got an unsatisfactory response. Also, I’d bought mine at Borders and they were no help either. They lost my business.

    I do hope your thumb heals quickly. Fingers keep getting smacked when they are injured.

  2. Nick Norelli says:

    Terrible! You should find another product from another company just on principle! I hope everything works out for you.

Leave a Reply

