Waxhaw

So I arrived in Waxhaw, North Carolina today, ready to attend a conference put on by Wycliffe Bible Translators called Total It Up!. It covers a lot of different subject areas, all in some way related to translating Scripture into a language that does not have the Bible in written form – either because it just hasn’t been done yet, or because the language does not have a written form.

I already looked through the class notebook. The contents were impressive, I would say. It covers phonology, translation theory, cultural factors involved in translation and learning, language acquisition for non-written languages, some IPA, even some Greek and English comparison (in transliteration – but we won’t judge too harshly). It approaches a number of different languages and language families to address topics, which is very cool. I was concerned at first what might be expected of me, since no real requirements were given about linguistic knowledge or Greek familiarity. But I now have a feeling that I will be challenged to learn some things I have not gotten into, while not being overwhelmed by expectations I can’t meet.

On another note, the housing provided is actually quite good. They are multi-bedroom apartments on-site. My apartment has three bedrooms*, 1 with a queen bed (I think), 1 with 2 doubles, and the final with a bunk bed. It has a decent size living room/dining area and a kitchen. One bathroom, but it seemed reasonable. No one else has yet arrived, but based on the spare towels and sheets on the beds, more will come. Arrival time was from 3-6PM, and it is only around 4PM now.

Have a great week everyone!

* In case you were wondering, I took one of the beds in the room with doubles. You may psycho-babble-yze that choice as you will. Yes, I just made that up.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Life In General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waxhaw

  1. Sounds like a great experience awaits you!

    How long will you be there?

Leave a Reply

