How did I miss that?

I’ve spent the last couple days working on translating Matthew 10:16-23. I finally finished going through it in the Greek, only to realize that the last verse has completely missed my attention. I’ve read it, many times even – in English and in Greek. But I’ve never actually noticed it.

And I guess that is why I am going through translating Matthew verse by verse. I want to catch myself. I don’t want to miss anything. Am I going to come to the end of Matthew knowing all there is to the book? Well, no. But I hope to be a little more humble in my own self-recognition – my awareness of just what I know and what lies hidden to me. And stretched by the labor of translating and grappling with the text firsthand.

Have you ever been here? Shocked to find that a particular verse or passage you have read before has greater impact or power than you’d ever noticed? Or that there are more issues or questions to be posed or grappled with because of its existence?

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Matthew. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How did I miss that?

  1. Paul D. says:

    “Have you ever been here? Shocked to find that a particular verse or passage you have read before has greater impact or power than you’d ever noticed?”

    All the time, actually. And often when I point it out to other Christians, it’s something they’ve never noticed either. I swear, 90% of the Bible (all the good stuff in particular) gets ignored in church.

    I actually intend to translate the Gospels (and possibly other books) for personal interest as well once my Greek is good enough. I dare say my experience as a professional translator for Japanese has lent me some skills that will come in handy.

Leave a Reply

