BDAG

Yesterday, I got to do the first post in my translation of Matthew having the benefit of  A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature (3rd Edition), commonly referred to as BDAG. And I have to say that having done so, I can’t imagine doing translation without it. It is an invaluable resource.

At the same time, it is rather expensive. Amazon is currently listing it as Used starting at $115.00! Even then, if you are an new NT student, I’d say to just bite the bullet. You will be paid back in good time. The fact is that it is a massive tome, and page for page is not that expensive.

I especially benefited from the articles on prepositions. Prepositions continue to sometimes throw me for a loop, as I learned them from usage in Classical Greek. It is not infrequent that Koine usage is dramatically different…

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Books, Matthew. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

