Polyglot Meme

James McGrath tagged me on a meme concerning languages we have “studied”. The idea is this:

…I’ve decided to start a meme, asking those tagged to list every language that they have made some sort of concerted effort to learn, even if they didn’t get beyond the first lesson or so, or even if they are still learning it. No need to specify the degree of fluency in the blog post – if readers are curious how much Swahili you know, they can ask.

Some of this is available through comments on my About page, though I have studied a few languages since then. His original post was in response to facebook changes that have made language more prominent, as well as making one have to consider what one deems “knowing” a language enough to list it (my own policy on facebook was to include languages that I have had actual, non-academic conversations in, or that I regularly write/read in). Since I have spent so much time on them – I feel justified here including computer languages, many of which I spend considerable time “speaking” on a daily basis. So, this is my list:

  • Arabic (MSA, Egyptian)
  • Cantonese
  • English
  • Esperanto
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
  • Greek (Classical, Koine, Modern)
  • Biblical Hebrew
  • Hindi/Devanagari
  • Korean
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Latvian
  • Mandarin Chinese
  • Portuguese
  • Russian
  • Tagalog
  • Ukrainian
  • ActionScript
  • ASP[.NET]
  • BASIC
  • C
  • C++
  • C#
  • ColdFusion
  • CSS
  • FORTRAN
  • HTML
  • “G”
  • Java
  • JavaScript/ECMAScript
  • PASCAL (plus ObjectPascal)
  • VBScript
  • x86 Machine Langauge
  • XML/XSL

Just for fun, I could also mention other languages I have had more than casual contact with, but would not describe as having taken “concerted effort to learn” – i.e. not even enough to say I spent a lesson – but may have learned how nouns or verbs can be classified, or how some feature of word formation works, or how an element of phonology works. These include: Agarabi (PNG), Apinaye (Brazil), Aztec (Michoacan, Sierra), Bisa (Ghana), Cambodian, Chol (Mexico), Mbembe (E. Nigeria), Mianmin (PNG), Pitjantjatjara (Australia), Sierra Nahaut (Mexico), Tboli, Tuamotuan (French Polynesia), as well as others that were modified to simplify some point of instruction.

I’m not going to tag anyone else, but feel free to join in and share your languages, fanciful (anyone know one of Tolkien’s Elvin tongues?) or otherwise.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Polyglot Meme

  1. Nancy says:

    Very impressive! There were some surprises that I would never have thought to mention! Imagination…how could we live without it!

  2. Pingback: Polyglot Meme with References | Rightly Dividing the Word of Truth

  3. Pingback: Meme 02: Polyglot | Irreducible Complexity

Leave a Reply

