Riding on The Metro

Yesterday, on my way back to the hotel, I saw my first drunk people in Paris (there may have been more but I did not see them). And…they were Americans. Ugh. 😦

I got on the metro, and the three 18-20 somethings were already being loud and obnoxious. They were keeping to themselves, but European culture is anti-I’m-loud-and-stick-out, and France is more so. Anyway, lightly rolling my eyes I just stayed out of their way.

Then, as one of them is getting ready to leave at the next stop, he bumps into me. He quickly offers an, Excusez-moi. I wave my head and hand to let him know it’s fine, and say, Je suis americain. The response? “Oh, you can tell?” I guess “je suis…” is not as common knowledge as I thought. I guess I should have just said it in English. But the, “Oh, you can tell?” made we wince a little.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

