On Finishing Well

Well this isn’t good.

Today was a busy morning. I had about four of my ferments to rack (see progress note below…), so I got busy siphoning and the like. Busy in the kitchen, I was unaware what had transpired in my office. I decided I’d love some music upstairs, so ran to grab my bluetooth speakers from the office, and found a miserable sight.

I still never got the speakers. Sitting here in silence, typing, wondering if I should go get them. Nah.

There’s liquid all over the floor. And dribbling down the front of my desk, right in front of…Hmmm. Appears that one of the two bottles of my fig wine has blown its cork! Looks like it wasn’t done fermenting, as I had thought it was. I clean up the mess (forgetting the speakers in the process) and bring the uncorked bottle and the still-corked bottle upstairs. I could tell that if one bottle did this, it would only be a matter of time before the other did the same.

The Fig That Remains

I did taste test some of the still-in-bottle brew, and must say that it tastes good. Not perfect, and I believe time would help with that. It definitely still has a strong woody aftertaste, but the effects are not nearly so stark or long-lasting as before. It is sweet and bubbly and, well, yummy. Something I think Kim will definitely like. Well, would have liked…

So, having completed the racking of all my other babies, it is now time to uncork the bottle which has not spewed all but a third of its innards within my office. I’m slightly worried it might fizz a little – much like champagne. But nothing prepared me for the fountain of bubbles that escaped, throwing the entire corkscrew feet into the air and across the kitchen. Amazing what a bunch of teeny critters can do in a glass bottle.

That leaves me with two bottles now, each a third full of fig wine. I combine them into one and top off with distilled water. The wine itself is plenty sweet, so I don’t think I need to add any sugar. The sweetness is what got me in this mess in the first place, I suppose. I have now air-locked the lone survivor, and we will see what happens.

Moral of story: Yes, you can bottle without “finishing” your wine. At least, this is what I hear. But next time I am near my supply store – certainly before I bottle any of the remaining ferments, I will be picking up some finisher to make sure that whatever activity could be going on is put to an immediate and permanent rest.

A note on progress…
Yeah, I’ve been busy since I last posted – now with about 23 gallons of ferments going, including cherry wine (1G), apple wine (6G), muscadine wine (4G), peach-strawberry wine (3G), mead (5G), asian pear wine (1G), raisin wine (1G), mint wine (1G) and a table grape (Mar) wine (1G).

I also have a cinnamon-asian pear liqueur and a muscadine liqueur in the making.

And then there is the muscadine jelly (both red and bronze), pepper jelly, asian pear butter and apple sauce…

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Fermentation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

