February 24, 2013

With everything currently in progress in secondary ferment, things are gong to be a little slower. Not much to report on the actual fermenting – things are pretty much as could be expected: braggot, strawberry melomel and mead all happily bubbling.

Since I had 12 new bottles ready (from yesterday) and nowhere to put them, plus an issue with some moldy boxes from some cork-blows earlier in the fall, I decided yesterday to go out and get one of the square nook organizers. I stayed up into the wee-hours this morning putting it together, then much of this afternoon filling it. The squares are not quite the right size for good placement but strips of 4×1 board (along with some other scrap pieces) worked nicely to adjust the size problem. I’m not ecstatic about the results (nor the fact that some of the decorative baskets I purchased were completely useless for storing wine bottles), but it will do for the moment. I’d like to design some shelving of my own – maybe with some internet help. But not today. And probably not this week.

So, new homes for the bottles meant moving all the bottles – something I was quite fearful of. Not that the wine I have already stored up is the best. It is indicative of many mistakes trying things out at the start, and shows a bit of impatience on my part. Too much sediment can hopefully be overcome, and hopefully does not ruin the product. In any case, I was successful in moving all but one bottle. Well, it moved fine, but a couple hours later was found blown.

The one bottle was one of my half-sweetened apple wines from the fall (not this recent batch of apple wine from frozen apple juice concentrate). Actually, I’m quite surprised it hadn’t already blown. The cork had been near 3/4″ out of the bottle top for months now. I guess the agitation was the final straw. Oh, well.

So that’s it, save for providing some pictures of my wine’s new home:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Fermentation Log and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

