Quatro de Maio, and the Quadruple Labeled

This afternoon we were invited to a “quatro de maio” celebration with a number of friends. Such is what happens when said friends (and us, too) have regularly scheduled Monday evening activities, not to mention the havoc potentially caused by May 5th being a school day. In any case, it was a blast, with an ample crowd of kids to entertain one another, a rousing game of Settlers of Catan for a few of us, some wonderful food and great beverages, and best of all the many conversations with old friends and new.

My favorite of the finger foods was, without doubt, the lime cookies. There was lime zest in the cookie itself, and this semi-liquid lime glaze on top. Oh, for a plate of them in front of me now! I have to figure out who brought those.

I brought a half-dozen bottles of my “Hefty Braggot” to share, which was received spectacularly, if I do say so myself. Noticeable honey in the end, an herbal quality, a not-so-in-your-face taste of alcohol (which says a lot, as the stuff runs 12.3%!), smooth, a smell that suggested “hoppiness” but was subdued in that sense on the taste buds: all of these were comments received. Always relieved when people enjoy.

After a long day of fun with friends, I finally got around to the labeling of the Belgian Quadruple. Calculating the percent alcohol using OG and FG gave me 7.22%, but factoring in the priming sugar (the D-180), I’m not so sure what the end result would actually be. Certainly higher, but not much. I’m sure I could calculate some reasonable value, since the SG for D-180 is a “known” entity. Instead, I am choosing to label as 8%. Close enough for my purposes.

Labels printed, labels applied, bottles boxed up and shifted downstairs. And now we say goodnight.

So, “Goodnight!”

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Fermentation Log, news and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

