Mars and Saturn!

Muscadines are not yet ready at The Happy Berry. Probably at least another week. Just as well, as I picked a few more grapes than intended, even without Muscadines ready! I missed the Jupiter grapes, and picked Venus earlier this summer. But there were plenty of Mars and Saturn grapes left, even after Jenna and I went through the vines.

We picked 25 pounds of Saturn and 27 pounds of Mars. I was shocked. I’ll of course have less than that once I pick over them to remove stems and bad berries. But that is still plenty for a 3 gallon batch of wine and at least one batch of jam (maybe more?) each. And, as the kids keep asking, some for eating… They are table grapes, after all. Though I did see online that Saturn grapes have the potential to be used for an “acceptable blending wine”.

We picked just before closing, so getting home I had just enough time to get them off top of each other instead of crushing one another in the buckets. Tomorrow, despite some other activities, I will need to pick over the grapes removing stems and bad grapes. I have the primary fermenters, yeast and maybe enough sugar. May need to clear up some secondary fermenters soon, though…

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Fermentation Log, Fruits and Vegetables, Jams and Jellies, Resources and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mars and Saturn!

  1. Pingback: Mars Grapes, Check! | Akahige Wines, Meads and Sundry

Leave a Reply

