I Must Have Left My Head Somewhere

Ever heard the expression, “I’d forget my head if it weren’t screwed on…” ? That’s kind of the way I was feeling over lunch today.

I forgot to keep up with chemical supplies, as I commented yesterday. Hopefully the lack of pectic enzyme doesn’t come back to haunt me. And then today, when I went to pitch the yeast, I realized I didn’t exactly have the yeast supplies I had intended. Specifically, I intended to use Montrachet for both these 3 gallon batches. Yet, I only had one packet. A very easy thing to have taken care of…mea culpa!

I had 3 or 4 Pasteur Champagne packets, one D-74 (perfect for mead), a couple KV-1117 and bread yeast. As an alternative, I could have split the packet of Montrachet, though half for each would have been a stretch for the packet, since it is indicated for 1-5 gallons. I decided to go with the Pasteur Champagne option. So, I rehydrated a packet of Montrachet and a packet of Pasteur Champagne. I added the Pasteur Champagne to the Saturn grape wine, and the Montrachet to the Mars grape wine. A little bit of vigorous stirring to incorporate oxygen, and then I sealed the tops of the buckets and air-locked them.

Everything is looking good. The Saturn is taking on much more of a reddish tinge, as expected. And I can already see the air-locks bubbling away, so now we wait, with intermittent stirring.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Fermentation Log and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

