Scenes From A Day In Paris

Today was a late starter. I apparently slept too long, and was awoken by maid service knocking at the door at noon. Slowly roused myself and got in the shower, and then once that was done headed out the door.

Discovered that the idea of simply taking the RER(C) to the Louvre was not going to work. Issy-les-Molinaux is not actually “in” Paris, so my metro/RER/tram ticket didn’t cover it (based on the ticket I had purchased). But I was able to make it by a simple combination of tram and metro. Then it was on to lunch at a café after a walk among the gardens (even the RER would have put me some distance away on the other side of the Seine).

After lunch, it was straight to Musée Louvre. I stayed in Denon all day, other than first going to the current exposition – on the art and history of Maroc (Morocco). Could have skipped the exposition, but honestly, between those two things I had little more time. It was a good time spent with some awesome art and displays. That’s what you get with half a day at this museum. It’s too much for one day, let alone half!

And after they started closing exhibits I headed out to look for dinner. I eventually found it, with a few stops along the way. Found the most well stocked Japanese liquor store ever. Seriously, it is rather difficult just walking around to find a good place to eat traditional French food. There is a Japanese restaurant (sushi and such, some ramen shops) on every corner – and in some places there were three in a row. Since it just seemed wrong to get Japanese in Paris, I found a good-looking Chinese place (let’s not question the logic too closely, mmm-kay?), and enjoyed my meal of Mongolian Lamb. They didn’t call it that, but that was essentially what it was – Mongolian Beef done with lamb. They were setting up for a birthday party or something like, and constantly had more people and supplies coming in. So service wasn’t the best. But I enjoyed myself anyway. Did have some trouble ordering thé chaud. The waitress wasn’t quite sure what I wanted. Piping hot green tea was eventually provided after some back and forth.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in news and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

