Ginger Bug in Action

Today, my friend was delivered her long-craved ginger beer. Yay, me!

The “wild” fermentation still seems rather motionless. The other two continue to eat, drink and be merry. But the two ginger beers I started have made their way to completion. The first to reach completion was the beer-yeast trial, in less than 24 hours. The wine-yeast took over 48, to reach a similar level of carbonation and pressure in the jug. In both cases, that is some definite speed, I think. Based on sampling each, I chose to add an additional 1/2 cup of white sugar to each. Looking back at my older ginger ale/beer without the bug, this was morer consistent with the proportions, though not exact.

My friend got the beer-yeast version this morning, and this evening I put the wine-yeast version in the refrigerator to chill for tomorrow. Thus, not a lot to say about flavor. Looking forward to that, tomorrow!

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Fermentation Log, Non-Fermented Beverages and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

