Urgent Care

This evening has been a bit of a waste.

After work, came upstairs eating some peanut butter crackers because I was hungry. About fifteen minutes later, I felt light-headed, confused, muscle spasms. Got dinner, which in my experience would be a sure-fire answer for my metabolism(?) issues. But still, no improvement. I’m not able to think straight or talk coherently, so ask Kim to head me over to urgent care. Not cool right?

Now, to be honest, none of this is entirely out of the blue. I regularly (once a week or two?) will feel dizzy, loss of energy, and usually a bit of protein plus sugar will help get out of the funk after a couple minutes. But this last week and a half has been brutal. Multiple episodes where it takes 15 to 30 minutes of just miserable incoherence, not enough strength to hold up a Ritz cracker, muscle twitches, labored breathing, laid out on the ground because you feel like you just want to melt into a puddle at its lowest energy state (despite the worried looks of family), etc. Not good for the system, without a doubt.

Todays’s was the longest ever. About an hour at home, then another half-hour at urgent care. I unfortunately sat under a common room TV that would blast when you weren’t expecting it, which would send my head ringing. I was feeling so out of it that I can’t even read, lifting a book or holding pages open seems too energetic. I’m seeing bright lights that roll vertically (rather than a horizontal dizzy feeling), and a numb/chill along the surface of the back half of my skull. But wouldn’t you know it, about five minutes before they call me, I feel my head clear – the fog lift, and though not perfect yet, great improvement. So they call me back, check my blood pressure. “Looks good.” she says. And so she sends me back to the waiting room to be called up to be seen by the doctor eventually.

Another half-hour later, all the dizziness is gone, all the weakness. I’m sitting there reading the introduction to a book on cognitive psychology, realizing that nothing can come from being seen at this point. So we left.

Grrrr.

About George

I'm interested in theology, languages, translation and various sorts of fermentation.
This entry was posted in Life In General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Urgent Care

  1. Pingback: I Had The Nurses Scrambling | σφόδρα – exceedingly

Leave a Reply

